Product detail

The Quake Year

The Quake Year

Author: Fiona Farrell; Juliet Nicholas (Photographer)
$40.00(NZD)  inc GST

This touching collection of stories focuses on the lives of ordinary people from Christchurch, New Zealand, who have had to cope with the devastation caused by the earthquakes that struck the city on September 4, 2010 and Febraury 22, 2011. Going beyond simply imparting details of the physical damage caused, this book highlights the stoicism of the people of Christchurch as they dealt with the ongoing aftershocks and undertook the massive task of rebuilding their city and their lives. From tales of innovation in times of adversity, to those of grief and loss.They are the poignant and moving, yet often revealing and healing interviews of people from various backgrounds, who despite their differences are now united by a common experience.

Author description

Fiona Farrell is one of New Zealand's leading writers, publishing work in a variety of genres. Winner of the 2007 New Zealand Prime Minister's Award for Fiction, she has been shortlisted for a number of other awards. Her first novel, The Skinny Louie Book, won the 1993 New Zealand Book Award for fiction.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781927145296
  • : Canterbury University Press
  • : Canterbury University Press
  • : May 2012
  • : 240x210mm
  • : April 2012
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 210x240mm
  • : Fiona Farrell; Juliet Nicholas (Photographer)
  • : Paperback
  • : Juliet Nicholas (photographer)
  • : 363.34950922938
  • : 232
  • : RP
  • : Colour illustrations